Ebay Ratings

14 Jun

I don’t know how often you make purchases on eBay, but I did notice they recently made big changes to their feedback policy. In the past you had three boxes to choose, negative, positive or neutral. You would choose one and then leave a detailed message about the transaction. However, now eBay has removed these settings and added what they call detailed seller ratings (DSRs). This new system is more or less the NetFlix or 5 star rating system.

eBay states, “Now, buyers can leave sellers an overall positive, neutral, or negative Feedback and ratings on four aspects of their transaction: accuracy of item description, communication, shipping time, and shipping and handling charges. The rating system is based on a one- to five-star scale, with one star being the lowest rating and five stars being the highest.”

Furthermore, “The average of each DSR is displayed on the seller’s Feedback Profile page. DSRs do not impact the overall Feedback Score, but provide a more complete picture of the member’s performance as a seller. DSRs are also a factor for eligibility for key seller benefits, including advantage in listing exposure, membership in the PowerSeller program, and eligibility for PowerSeller discounts on final value fees”

I think this eBay’s DSR feedback system is more granular, but I am not sure it is as clear for the consumer as the old system. Now instead of just looking for good or bad feedback, you have to look at a myriad of rating variables.

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply